Looking for a pi? Tired of waiting? Here's an alternative I found

The Raspberry Pi is a series of credit card-sized single-board computers developed in the United Kingdom by the Raspberry Pi Foundation to promote the teaching of basic computer science in schools and developing countries.

/RaspberryPi
Corporate

Looking for a pi? Tired of waiting? Here's an alternative I found

Post by /RaspberryPi »

This is a story of 3 Odroids: the C4, the N2+, and the M1
Looking for a pi? We all love pi's. I have 3 of them myself. But the wait sucks.
I'm no expert, I'm just sharing my research as a consumer, but here we go. I'm not trying to be a fanboy of either as you will see. My only goal here is to try to help some that are waiting:
Where they work (and don't):
  • If you have a SBC project that will work on a basic debian or ubuntu install, and is not flashing a prebuilt, pi specific image, there's a decent chance Odroids will work for ya. Anything else (specific hardware, using GPIO, needing a different OS, etc), do your own research b/c this was outside of what I was looking for. These boards do have GPIO, I just don't know how it compares to pi's. There are alternate distros, but I again do your own research. RPi certainly has more distros though b/c of the larger user base.
  • You can follow most software "pi projects" that fit the above with slight variations, e.g. the user name won't be "pi".
3 Odroids to look at:
  • C4 - this best I can tell is Odroid's shot at a RPi4 clone, but only comes in 4GB RAM
  • N2+ - this board's main benefit is that it is substantially faster than the RPi 4. Storage is somewhat on par with RPi 4, but adds the option for emmc. RAM options are 2GB and 4GB