Error trying to use amicroPython on Pico error "Cannot access COM6"

The Raspberry Pi is a series of credit card-sized single-board computers developed in the United Kingdom by the Raspberry Pi Foundation to promote the teaching of basic computer science in schools and developing countries.

/RaspberryPi
Corporate

Error trying to use amicroPython on Pico error "Cannot access COM6"

Post by /RaspberryPi »

I'm new to using Raspberry Pi's in any form, and have been trying to recreate this digital orrery build https://github.com/dr-mod/pico-solar-system as an anniversary gift but am having some troubles.
So far this is what I have done, all being done on Windows 10.
Using the same RTC and display pack as the original creator I attached them both to the Pico as he did, and when plugged into my computer via the USB (and holding the BOOTSEL) the display pack lights up so I believe it is all properly connected.
Next I downloaded the provided MicroPython build with the Pimorini libs https://github.com/pimoroni/pimoroni-pi ... -v1.15.uf2 And dragged that onto the storage location of the Pico.
It then disappeared as a storage device which as I understand is to be expected, and then when I used the latest version of Thonny and selected interpreter (Raspberry Pi Pico) and used the < try to detect port automatically > it gives me an error message when selecting the install or update firmware giving a long message that sums up to "ssl has expired".
I wasn't sure if installing or updating the firmware is required, but it gives me the prompt to every time I go to use Thonny with the Pico.
In Thonny when I press Stop at the top after selecting the Pico interpreter and ignoring the firmware update prompt/error, I do see the triple arrows to start entering code into the Pico, and have been able to make the onboard Led blink to test it previously.