Raspberry Pi Powered D20 Dice Testing Rig

The Raspberry Pi is a series of credit card-sized single-board computers developed in the United Kingdom by the Raspberry Pi Foundation to promote the teaching of basic computer science in schools and developing countries.

/RaspberryPi
Corporate

Raspberry Pi Powered D20 Dice Testing Rig

Post by /RaspberryPi »

Image Tabletop gamers (that is D&D style Role-Playing Games for you non-gamers) often make use of dice to add some chaos to the game's plot. The twenty-sided die (d20) is often used to this end and just as often gamers get superstitious about their die. When a player rolls well during a game the die is "loaded" and when they roll poorly the die is "cursed." I have been gaming for many years and have heard some version of this argument many, many times, so I decided to find out if game dice are actually, physically "fair."
Fair is tough to define, but I decided to use a "Goodness of Fit" test to determine if the die is behaving in a reasonably expected manner. After some research I decided to roll a d20 1000 times to determine if it was fair. This seemed....unpleasant. So I built "Fortuna."
Behind the touch screen is a Raspberry Pi 3b with a bit of python on it to complete the following steps.
  1. Activate a mosfet to power a 12 volt solenoid underneath the rolling cup. This fires the die vertically about 4-5 inches. The system then waits two seconds for the die to settle down.
  2. Snap a picture with a Picam and label it with the die serial number.
  3. Store the picture in a serial numbered directory on an SMB share so I can get it over to my Mac
  4. Feed pictures to custom machine learning system to "read" the numbers on the top and determine the value for that roll. Enter this into a results file.
  5. More custom Python code to run "Goodness of Fit" against the results and spit out a spreadsheet with the results. I have attached a couple of good and bad results graphs for your viewing pleasure.